State Law > Alabama > Alabama Meal and Rest Periods Law

Alabama Meal and Rest Periods Law

 

Alabama does not have a comprehensive meal and rest periods law. Alabama does have a child labor law concerning meal and rest periods located at Title 25, Chapter 8, in the section below.

Sec. 25-8-38.

(c) No person 14 or 15 years of age shall be employed for more than five hours continuously without an interval of at least 30 minutes for a meal or rest period. Any meal or rest period of less than 30 minutes shall not be considered to interrupt a continuous period of work.

Sec. 25-8-59. Violations. Alabama --Violations

Any person, firm, or corporation who violates this chapter [Chapter 8 of Title 25], or who fails or refuses to obey within a reasonable time any lawful order or direction given by the state officials charged with the enforcement of this chapter, and any parent, guardian, or custodian who suffers or permits a person under his or her care or control who is under 18 years of age to work in violation of this chapter, shall be deemed guilty of a Class B or C misdemeanor unless another penalty is specifically provided in this chapter. A first conviction shall be deemed a Class C misdemeanor and punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500). A second or subsequent conviction shall be deemed a Class B misdemeanor and punishable by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Login to read more.

Related Articles

Alabama Meal and Rest Periods Law - All
Alabama Meal and Rest Periods Law - 25-8-38. Rest Periods for Those 14 or 15 Years of Age
Alabama Meal and Rest Periods Law - 25-8-59. Violations
 

HR CARE®
MEMBER LOGIN

Username: *

Password: *
Accept terms *
Login failed.
 
copyright 2000 - 2024 Curtis Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. | Access to the HR Care publications is subject to certain terms and conditions.
Learn about our online compliance training at www.hrclassroom.com